[ecoop-info] Call for Submissions - 2020 Minerva Informatics Equality Award

Franziska Hauffe franziska.hauffe at informatics-europe.org
Fri Feb 28 12:40:15 CET 2020

*Minerva Informatics Equality Award* 
*2020 Edition**
**'Supporting the transition of female PhD and postdoctoral researchers 
into faculty positions'*

*Presented by Informatics Europe**
**Sponsored by Google*

*Call for Submissions Now Open* 

Informatics Europe proudly announces the fifth Minerva Informatics 
Equality Award devoted to initiatives seeking to encourage and support 
the careers of women in Informatics research and education. The fifth of 
this annual award will be presented in October 2020 and is sponsored by 

The Informatics Europe Minerva Informatics Equality Award recognises 
best practices in Departments or Faculties of European Universities or 
Research Institutes and Labs that have been demonstrated to have a 
positive impact for women. On a three-year cycle the award will focus 
each year on a different stage of the career pipeline:

  * Developing the careers of female faculty, including retention and
  * Supporting the transition for PhD and postdoctoral researchers into
    faculty positions;
  * Encouraging female students to enrol in Computer Science/Informatics
    programs and retaining them.

The *2020 Award* is devoted to *gender equality initiatives and policies 
supporting the transition of female PhD and postdoctoral researchers 
into faculty positions.*

The Award seeks to celebrate successful initiatives that have had a 
measurable impact on the careers of women within the institution. Such 
initiatives can serve as exemplars of best practices within the 
community, with the potential to be widely adopted by other 
institutions. Submissions will need to demonstrate the impact that has 
been achieved.

*For 2020 examples of impact could include an improved career 
development and better agreements on career planning for female PhD 
students and postdocs as recorded in objective surveys of staff 
experience, and increasing numbers of female faculty.*

*The Award carries a prize of EUR 5,000.*

The Award will be given to a Department or Faculty to be used for 
further work on promoting gender equality. To be eligible, institutions 
must be located in one of the member or candidate member countries of 
the Council of Europe <https://www.coe.int/en/web/portal/home>, or 
Israel. Institutions associated with members of the WIRE Working Group 
and of the Award committee are not eligible. The Award committee will 
review and evaluate each proposal. It reserves the right to split the 
prize between different applications. Moreover, noteworthy runners up 
may also be included as exemplars of best practice in future Informatics 
Europe publications.
**Proposals should be submitted only at:*

*The proposal should include:*

  * Contact information of the Head/Director of the applying Department
    or Faculty and the responsible for the application (who can be the
  * A brief summary or abstract (100 words or less) which can be made
  * Description of the initiative (max 2 pages);
  * Evidence of its impact (max 2 pages);
  * An optional reference list (which may include URLs of supporting
  * Optionally, one or two letters of support. The letters of support
    may come, for example, from female staff members who have benefited
    from the scheme;
  * An indication of whether the submission can be considered as a
    runner up (if it does not win the award) and be included as an
    exemplar of best practice in future Informatics Europe publications.


  * Full submissions: 1 June 2020
  * Notification of winner(s): 1 August 2020

The Award will be presented at the 16th European Computer Science Summit 
(ECSS) <http://www.informatics-europe.org/ecss/home.html>, in Sofia, 
Bulgaria, 26-28 October 2020, where a representative of the winning 
institution will be invited to give a talk on their achievements.

*Award Committee:*

  * Gordana Dodig-Crnkovic, Chalmers University of Technology and
    Mälardalen University, Sweden (Chair)
  * Ivona Brandic, TU Wien, Austria
  * Sylvia Ilieva, Sofia University "St. Kliment Ohridski", Bulgaria
  * Dympna O'Sullivan, TU Dublin, Ireland
  * Olaf Owe, University of Oslo, Norway
  * Alexander Serebrenik, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands.

*Further inquiries:*
minerva-award at informatics-europe.org 
<mailto:minerva-award at informatics-europe.org>

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list